Utah’s Connor Ingram Wins NHL’s 2023-24 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

  • 16 May 2024
  • Uncategorized
  • All News

Utah’s Connor Ingram Wins NHL’s 2023-24 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy


SALT LAKE CITY (May 15, 2024) – Today, the National Hockey League (NHL) named Utah goaltender Connor Ingram the 2023-24 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy Winner. The award, presented by the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA), honors the late Bill Masterton and recognizes the NHL player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.”


“Connor’s journey through adversity and his unwavering commitment to the game of hockey truly embodies the essence of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy,” said Bill Armstrong, Utah’s general manager. “Since his return, Connor has not only excelled on the ice, but has emerged as an inspiration to hockey players across the globe as he continues to tell his story and emphasize the importance of seeking support during life’s darkest moments. We are immensely proud of Connor and honored to have him represent our team as this year’s winner.”


In January 2021, Ingram entered the NHL/NHLPA player assistance program, which he credits to turning his life and career around after nearly retiring due to an undiagnosed obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) and lingering depression. The NHL/NHLPA player assistance program provides resources for players and their families dealing with mental health, substance abuse, and other issues. Through the program, players have access to multiple resources including a hotline, counselors, and mental health professionals.


Following his time in the program, Ingram established himself as the team’s top goaltender, finishing the 2023-24 season with a 23-21-3 record, .907 save percentage, 2.91 goals-against average, and a league-best (tie) six shutouts in 50 appearances.


Ingram will be presented the award during the 2024 NHL Awards in Las Vegas, NV on Thursday, June 27, which will be broadcast live on ESPN and Sportsnet beginning at 5 P.M. MT.


A $2,500 grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Memorial Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minn., in the name of the trophy winner.


Other finalists for this year’s honor were Frederik Anderson of the Carolina Hurricanes and Oliver Kylington of the Calgary Flames.


Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy winners all have stories of courage and persistence and have inspired hockey players, and fans, across the globe. Recent winners of the Masterton Trophy include Kris Letang (Pittsburgh Penguins, 2022-23), Carey Price (Montréal Canadiens, 2021-22), and Oskar Lindblom (Philadelphia Flyers, 2020-21). Fans can find a full list of past winners here.




About Utah’s NHL Franchise

Smith Entertainment Group (SEG) established Utah’s first-ever NHL franchise in April 2024, with the team set to debut in the 2024-25 season. With this move, SEG introduced the second “Big Four” major professional sports league to Utah for the first time in state history.  Utah’s NHL franchise was established with a competitive, dynamic roster and 34 draft picks spanning its first three consecutive seasons (2024-27). The team will compete at Delta Center in downtown Salt Lake City, building on the renowned, energetic atmosphere for which Utah’s sports and entertainment scene has become known. For more information on Utah’s NHL franchise, an entity of Smith Entertainment Group, visit

About Smith Entertainment Group

Smith Entertainment Group (SEG) is a sports, entertainment, real estate, and technology investment group focused primarily on the state of Utah. SEG’s portfolio includes the Utah Jazz (NBA), Utah’s new NHL franchise, Delta Center, SEG Media, Real Salt Lake (MLS), Utah Royals (NWSL), America First Credit Union Field, Salt Lake City Stars (NBA G League), Utah Jazz Gaming (NBA 2K League), Real Monarchs (MLS NEXT Pro), and other Utah-centric business ventures.